Penpals?

“Penpals” now that’s a word you don’t hear very often these day’s, I used to have one when I was about eight or nine, the school I went to decided it would be good for us to correspond with children our own age in different parts of the world. My penpal was from Osaka in Japan, his name was Yoshito Tagowa and we wrote to each other for about four years until we both joined that wonderful world of teenageville, then the letters dwindled and we sort of lost touch. I do still wonder sometimes how he is doing.

What brought him to mind were the guy’s on the radio (Juice FM) they were talking about getting pen pals and when the airmail letter/envelope came to mind it made me giggle, it was a light, flimsy excuse for paper and envelope and blue, but it did the trick and saved on postage lol. Then I wondered with all the social sites out there, if people still have pen-friends they actually write to.

Have you ever had a penpal, do you still have one?

Do you still use pen and paper to get in touch with them?

16 responses to “Penpals?

  • sami116

    I had one when I was 10-11 and then our relationship evolved to facebook friends.

  • ayearofletters

    Yes people still have penpals. And now many have blogs associated with letter writing and penpals. If you’re interested in finding like-minded people check out the blog list on my blog. They are all “letter” related. Hope you get and send some mail this year!

    • Corkscrewboo

      Your blog is beautiful, and very interesting, I will be having a nosy through your blog list over the next few day’s, thank you for letting me know that the art of putting pen to paper is still alive 😉

  • totsymae1011

    Never had a pen pal but I used to want one. Then, I started thinking of all the things that could go wrong, Like, them finding my house to do me harm. I thought myself to be such a person of importance back then, but no one really knew me outside of my family and small circle of friends. Thus, more need for a pen pal. I always kinda wondered about those women who marry inmates, however. They must really need friends?

  • Corkscrewboo

    it’s a pity you didn’t have one, it’s great as a kid to learn about other cultures first hand so to speak, I loved it and remember how excited I’d be when the post came and there was a little blue airmail letter on the mat lol, when you say “inmates” do you mean people in prison?

  • Corkscrewboo

    I thought that’s what you ment, got my dim head on today lol. they probably did start as pen-friends, it does seem strange though that someone can fall in love with someone they might not have ever met don’t you think?

  • lily.

    Yay, a post about pen pals! :> I have one who’s in Canada, and we exchange actual written letters. And another one who’s from England England, but we mostly communicate by IMs and send other parcels (although we still exchange 10+ pages of handwritten letters at a time!).

    I LOVE having pen pals. Instant messaging isn’t the same!

  • SammyDee

    I had loads of pen pals growing up. I loved it. I loved writing letters. I loved receiving letters. They were always something to treasure.

    As a pre-teen I was pen pals with my cousins who lived in Wales, whilst I lived in England. At school I learned German so I found 2 German pen pals. At college I visited Romania and made 2 more. Plus whilst at college I became ‘pen pals’ with old school friends. Of course, we didn’t actually call it that. Yes we had email – but we’re talking before Facebook and online social networking.

    I don’t write letters anymore. I do miss it sometimes. I regret loosing touch with friends but people move and addresses get lost. I’ve reconnected with people in the UK, but I wouldn’t know how to look for my old friends abroad.

    Emails are very convenient, certainly, but letters took a lot of time, thought and effort. They were far more special.

    • Corkscrewboo

      Thanks for dropping in, I totally agree, I love getting a card/letter from the kid’s (when they bring me to mind lol) and sitting down to write back, yes we are on the phone/email all the time, but as you said ” letters took a lot of time, thought and effort. They were far more special.”

Leave a Reply

